Equity and Inclusion

Equity Committee

UBC Psychology’s Equity Committee is responsible for implementing UBC’s policies related to equity and inclusion within our department.


Our mission is to strive for a department community that is equitable, inclusive, and supportive to its members, which will enhance department culture and well-being for everyone, including being beneficial for hiring and retention.

Committee Members

Steven Barnes, Faculty Member
Frances Chen, Faculty Member
Lucy De Souza, Graduate Student
Jean Dong, Undergraduate Student
Ellen Jopling, Graduate Student
Kristin Laurin, Faculty Member
Mark Schaller, Faculty Member


Through our Respectful Environment statement, the University envisions a climate with the best possible conditions for learning, research and work that is supported by an environment that is dedicated to excellence, equity, diversity and inclusion. Diversity, equity, and excellence are not only institutional values; they are also about the people who make up our UBC community. Learn more about Equity at UBC.