Psychology faculty receive 2022 UBC Faculty Research Awards

Dr. Joelle LeMoult (L) and Dr. Azim Shariff (R)

Recognizing outstanding research and scholarly contributions.

Dr. Joelle LeMoult (she/her) and Dr. Azim Shariff (he/him) were awarded UBC Killam Research Prizes. These awards recognize outstanding research and scholarly contributions of faculty from disciplines including medicine and applied sciences to arts, social sciences and humanities.

Dr. LeMoult, an associate professor in the department of psychology, received a UBC Killam Research Fellowship in the Junior Category. This fellowship enables promising faculty members to pursue full-time research during a recognized study leave.

During her study leave, Dr. LeMoult will be exploring the differences between Chinese and Canadian youth’s predictors of depression.

“I am incredibly grateful to the Killam Trusts for the chance to pursue full-time research over the upcoming year. I look forward to spending my time establishing collaborations and new areas of expertise that I am eager to share with the UBC community.”
Associate Professor, UBC Psychology

Dr. LeMoult works to further our understanding of the etiology, maintenance, and treatment of depression. Using an integrated approach, she examines the cognitive, emotional, and biological responses to stress that contribute to depressive symptoms.

Dr. Shariff, a professor in the department of psychology and Canada Research Chair in moral psychology, received a UBC Killam Research Prize in the Arts and Humanities Senior Scholar Category.

“I'm very honoured to follow my many colleagues in the department who have previously won this award. I'm walking in some esteemed footsteps.”
Professor, UBC Psychology

Dr. Azim Shariff is a social psychologist whose research focuses on where morality intersects with religion, cultural attitudes and economics. Another rapidly expanding part of his research looks at human-technology interactions and the ethics of automation, including self-driving cars.

Please join us in congratulating Dr. LeMoult and Dr. Shariff on this recognition!

UBC Faculty Research Award winners are selected by UBC’s Faculty Research Award Committee. The committee is composed of UBC faculty members who adjudicate internal awards and prizes that recognize excellence in research by UBC faculty members in a variety of disciplines.

The Office of the VP, Research and Innovation will be hosting a reception in June 2023 to acknowledge the achievements of all recipients of UBC Faculty Research Awards.